ACADEMY PREP

License to Carry

  • COST: $79

  • PREREQUISITE: Handgun 101 or be able to demonstrate proficiency with a firearm. The Firearms Carry Course is NOT an instruction class for new shooters.

  • INCLUDES: ear protection and target

  • DURATION: approximately 2-3 hours/classroom and range

  • EQUIPMENT NEEDED:

    • Handgun (handguns are available to rent. You can find our rental fleet and pricing by clicking HERE)
    • Eye protection (available for purchase)
    • 50 rounds of ammo (brass only, available for purchase)
    • Notepad and pen

The License to Carry (formerly concealed handgun license or CHL in Houston, TX) is an extremely valid and valuable option for gun owners.

With this course, we will equip you with the knowledge of the laws concerning carrying a firearm afforded to you as a Texas resident.

This course includes the License to Carry shooting proficiency, the written test, and everything you need to apply for your license to carry with the state.

CHL TRAINING IN HOUSTON TEXAS

What you need

What you need to get your LTC in Houston, TX

  • The Texas License to Carry age requirement is 21 years old for civilians and 18 years old for military members.

  • Before signing up for the TX License to Carry course, you must complete our Handgun 101 course or demonstrate proficiency with a firearm. The LTC course is NOT an instructional class for new shooters.

Frequently Asked Questions

We’re here to help

Here are helpful links and all the steps necessary for obtaining your License to Carry in the state of Texas.

Fingerprinting is done through IdentoGo. While we do have one of their location in our facility, they are a separate entity. You can view their locations, schedules, and availability here: https://uenroll.identogo.com/.

Yes. The License to Carry course is not an instructional course for those new to firearms. If you are not already proficient with firearms, we highly recommend taking Handgun 101. If you register for this course and our instructors find you are not already proficient with your firearm, we will remove you from the course.

Yes. You can schedule your proficiency portion of your Texas License to Carry HERE.

No. We have rentals available for your use. We require you to purchase our range ammo to use with our rentals.

Absolutely! While we always provide post-class instructions, sometimes it helps to have all the information laid out.

  1. Make sure you qualify and read over any information at the Texas DPS website.
  2. Register for either our in-person LTC class (schedule/registration are below) or our Online LTC class (does not include the in-person proficiency test).
  3. If you took an online class, schedule and take your proficiency test once you complete it.
  4. Apply for your Texas License to Carry with the state.
  5. Schedule your fingerprints.

LTC

Registration